As the name of the feature suggests, the “Do Not Disturb” mode essentially mutes all the calls and text notifications so that you will only be notified when you choose to use this feature.
This feature is available on both Android and iOS devices.
By turning on the “Do Not Disturb” mode, you can customize the time period within which you would like to enjoy your peace without being disturbed by the Constant notifications from your phone.
You can also choose the selective phone contacts who can reach you even if your phone is on the “Do Not Disturb” mode. This is one of the latest additions made to this feature.
Hence, it might not be available in the earlier models of Android or iOS.
What Does Do Not Disturb Do?
When you toggle on the “Do Not Disturb” mode on your phone, you won’t be notified when you receive a call, text, or any other notification.
But, that is certainly not all; this feature is catered more toward blocking the visuals and sounds, which usually catch your attention whenever you receive a text or a notification.
The Do Not Disturb mode mutes the sounds, and it blocks the notification visuals so that even if someone is trying to get you over call or text,
You will not be able to see the visuals or even receive the notification.
But of course, this feature also lets you allow notifications, calls, and texts from selective individuals so that you do not miss out on those important messages even while being on Do Not Disturb.
What Happens When Someone Calls You On Do Not Disturb?
When this feature is toggled on, the calls are directly sent to the voicemail, or it just notifies the caller that you are busy on another call.
So, If you are looking to take a break from your hectic schedule and not answer those long calls from your work, then the Do Not Disturb feature on your phone has completely got you.
Other than that, the Do Not Disturb feature goes a step further and does not notify you when you’re receiving a call which is a bonus.
This mode can be activated at a particular scheduled time so that you do not have to toggle the switch on and off every single day.
It is ideal for nighttime or for attending important meetings when you probably do not want to be constantly distracted by your phone.
The options in the DND mode are completely customizable, so the user has the full liberty to control the mode as they please.
Also Read: What Is Do Not Disturb On iPhone?
What Happens To Texts When Do Not Disturb Mode Is On?
Unlike the calls, the messages are still delivered to your device even when the Do Not Disturb mode is turned on. But, the catch is that there is no notification
Alert or display on the screen whenever a message is received while the device is on Do Not Disturb mode.
When you get back to your phone, you will be able to see those messages, after which you can decide to either ignore or respond to the messages.
Although, this comes with an exception for the numbers you have put on the exemptions list.
The phone numbers on your exemptions list will still be able to get through to you even when your phone is in the Do Not Disturb mode.
This list blanks by default until the user chooses a bunch of numbers to put in the Do Not Disturb exemptions list.
Does Do Not Disturb Go Through Calls?
No, The Do Not Disturb mode does not allow calls to go through until and unless it is from a contact that you have put on the exemptions list.
This list can be edited before setting the Do Not Disturb mode on your phone, and the settings remain unchanged until further notice.
For the iOS users, the calls directly go to voicemail, and you won’t be notified when you receive a call, nor will the flash or the display on your phone will go off to grab your attention.
For android users, the phone rings as per usual without alerting the user, which is what marks the purpose of this feature. It is probably the handiest
Feature to have around when you are trying to catch a good sleep or are heading for a meeting.
Also Read: Does Do Not Disturb Block Alarm?
Why Do I Still Get Texts On Do Not Disturb?
There can be the following reasons why you are still receiving texts while your phone is on the Do Not Disturb mode:
1. You Haven’t Disabled The “Show Message Notifications” Option
As we have discussed earlier, the Do Not Disturb mode offers a plethora of customizable options so that you can receive the notifications as per your preference.
If the “Show message notification” option is not disabled on your phone, you will still be able to see the messages and notifications even if you do not receive the alerts.
You can toggle this switch off from the Android auto settings on your phone.
2. The Text Is From An Exempted Number On The List
We have made this pretty clear by now that only the numbers lined up on the exemptions list will be able to get through your phone while it is still on the Do Not Disturb mode.
Also, this list remains unchanged until you decide to change it again, so that might be the reason why you are still receiving texts on Do Not Disturb mode.
Can I Put One Person On Do Not Disturb?
Yes. This feature is available on the iPhone. If you head over to the Messages app on your phone, you can choose a particular conversation, tap on the “i” icon and turn on
The Hide Alerts option to stop receiving notifications whenever they text you.
You can undo this setting by swiping left on the same conversation and choosing the Show alerts option. You can turn on this setting for multiple contacts on your list.
After toggling this switch, you won’t be receiving any notifications for their messages until you undo the setting.
For Android users, you can head over to the Do Not Disturb mode and star mark the contacts from whom you would like to accept calls and notifications.
This feature allows you to take calls from the contacts that are added to your Favourites by switching on the Allow Calls From option.
Also Read: Does Do Not Disturb Block Calls?
Do Not Disturb Vs Blocked
For the iOS users, the messages received on iMessage while on the Do Not Disturb mode shows the Delivered status, whereas if the person has been blocked,
Their message will not show any status whatsoever. This is how you can know if you have been blocked.
Also, a good way to figure out whether you have been blocked or the person has just put their phone on Do Not Disturb to try and call them.
If you have been blocked, you will be able to get through to them by using another number, but that will not be the case when their phone is on the DND mode.
When a user has toggled the Repeated Calls feature of the Do Not Disturb mode, they will be able to receive repeated calls within the duration of 3 minutes at maximum.
This liberty is not available to the contacts who have been blocked.
Find the detailed differences in the following table:
|Do Not Disturb||Blocked|
|Blocks calls and texts from all the callers except a select few from the “Exempted” list.||This option only blocks calls and texts from selective individuals whom you choose to put on the blocked list.|
|On the iOS devices, it shows the Delivered status for messages.||It doesn’t show any such status for the blocked contacts.|
|You won’t be notified if the person tries to contact you from another number.||You will be notified if you are contacted by a different number.|
|Repeated calls are allowed after consecutive rings within the duration of 3 minutes.||Even if you are being contacted repeatedly by the same caller, they will not be able to reach you.|
While the Do Not Disturb mode is quite handy. It is also a complex feature since it involves various loopholes, which might make it a bit confusing for the users.
The key takeaway from this blog is that the major loopholes involved in the DND mode are the “Allow calls from” and the “Repeated calls” option.
Other than that, we also have the “Send notification alert” option, which can be turned off if you do not want to view notifications every time you get a text while your phone is on DND mode.