Have you ever tried to share your location with a friend or family member through iMessage or another app, only to see a message that says “location not available”?
iPhone enables an user to share their locations through which you can locate where they are.
Through sharing location you can keep the location of your friends known to yourself, which helps you to track them when they have faced any problem and need your help.
However there are times when you can not track their location and the Apple’s system will show you that the location is not available.
In this guide we will help you to understand what that means and how you can solve it.
Why Does It Say Location Not Available When Sharing Location On IPhone?
When you want to see the location of your friends and the message pops out that the “Location is not available” then that means the user have turned off the location sharing in their device.
When you turn off your location sharing in your iPhone then that disables other users from seeing your location.
When this happens and you can not find the location of your friend and thus you can just contact them and ask them to share their location by switching on the location share.
To do that just follow the below steps and the user will be able to share their location with you.
Step 1: First go to Settings and then click on Apple ID from the options present in there.
Step 2: Now you will need to choose the Find My option from there and tap on it.
Step 3: You will need to search and find the option Share My Location and then switch it On.
Why Does It Say Location Not Available On IMessage?
When you are seeing that “Location not available” for your friend in your iMessage then it means that your friend’s location sharing is turned off from their device.
When you have turned off your location sharing, your location can not be seen by any other user and Apple will show that your “location is not available” to everyone.
To make sure that your location is available to others you can just follow the steps given previously and your location now can be seen by your friends.
If you can not see your Friend’s location for imessages then you can contact them and ask them to follow the steps and you will be able to see their location from your device.
Does Location Not Available Mean That They Have Turned It Off?
If your iphone is showing “Location not available” for your friend then it can be either that they have turned off their location sharing and Apple is not able to share their location to other users.
However, it can also mean that your phone might have a bug when it comes to that particular feature and thus is causing problems for you to see it and this might be true for your friend’s iphone too.
In such cases, first you can restart your device which will make the bug fix itself and then you will be able to see the location of your friend.
If it is not fixed after that then you can ask your friend to restart their device and that will fix the problem if your friend’s device had any bugs or glitches.
If after doing this still your friend’s location is not shown by Apple then you can ask your friend to check whether they have the location sharing turned off.
If it is turned Off then you can ask them to turn it On and you will be able to see their location.
Sometimes the glitch can occur in the toggle setting itself and thus when it is turned On it still acts the function of turned Off.
In such an instance you can turn it Off and then again turn it On and this should solve the issue.